Latest news


    Thursday, June 20, 2024

    Congratulations to Ray Parker from Madeira BC who has agreed to fill the vacancy of Men’s Junior Vice-President with immediate […]

    Read more

    Friday, May 24, 2024

    Congratulations to the seven bowlers from Devon who, following the Trials, have been selected to represent England in this summer’s […]

    Read more

    Wednesday, February 28, 2024

    Congratulations to Ilfracombe BC on being chosen as Club of the Year for 2023. They came out on top from […]

    Read more

    Monday, December 4, 2023

    At the recent Bowls Devon AGM, the 2024 Presidents were installed with Sandra Andrews (South Molton BC) continuing for a […]

    Read more

Flash News

Bill Smith, Bowls Devon Men's President 2024

I feel very honoured to have been appointed Men’s President for Bowls Devon in 2024.

Could I take this opportunity to thank you all for the way Aileen and I have been made to feel very welcome throughout the seven years we have lived in Devon.

I look forward to working with the Women’s President Sandra, Keith and Denise, members of the County Executive and thank them for all the work they do to ensure we are able to play and enjoy our sport. A special thank you must go to my club, Bitton Park in Teignmouth, for the support they give me.

Looking at the extensive lists of fixtures and events, I anticipate I will do over 4000 miles this year around Devon and the south west attending matches. I look forward to meeting you all.

Good luck to all those participating in County, National or Club competitions. For those who reach Leamington Sandra and I will be there throughout to support you.

Wishing you good health, good bowling and fingers crossed good weather.

Ilfracombe BC on Club of the Year shortlist

Press Release

"It clearly demonstrates that anything can be achieved when club and community come together!

What a start to the year after an amazing 2023 and our nomination for club of year, in recognition of our efforts to save this great club; our membership grew from 16 indoors and 18 outdoors in 2023 to 80 full playing members!

The start of 2024 has been a whirlwind with Chuckie joining indoors, Lily, Lexie, Ray, Sue and Lin becoming full members, Chris joining us in April, Mick, Allie and hubby coming up to give it a go, and two more ladies and Billy in contact with us, plus the amazing nurse in Bideford, who is looking after our club secretary so well, promising to come up in April!

14 prospective new members in the first 5 weeks of the 2024 🥳🥳🥳 and we are confidently forecasting over 100 full playing members by the start of the outdoor season. Our green and iconic Clubhouse are looking absolutely amazing in readiness for the outdoor season starting in April. What a year 2024 promises to be!"

Sandra Andrews, Lady President 2024

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your support over the past 2023 season, what a wonderful year it was.

It was a joy to meet so many lovely people in your warm and hospitable Clubs across the County, to laugh and celebrate the game of bowls which bring us together in mutual enjoyment.

I thank my own home club of South Molton for supporting me during 2023, and for their continued support this coming year.

Congratulations to those whose bowls journey took them to Leamington (and some further afield to Australia!); and the team of Ladies who won the Johns Trophy. As many of you know this is something close to my heart as it was my great grandmother Clara Johns who gave the trophy way back in 1935; it was a joy for me to present the Trophy to Devon on the Leamington green. Can you do it again Ladies in 2024 - no pressure!

But of course, it is the grass root bowlers who are the backbone of bowling, those who play friendlies, support Club competitions and volunteer to keep the Club facilities in good order all with highly valued teamwork.

I look forward to working alongside the Presidential team Bill, Keith and Denise.
With good wishes to everyone for enjoyment of the coming season.



Our future Devon bowlers with their coaches

John Short, Men's President 2023